瑰丽伊始

璀璨钻石人生

珠宝历史学家Vivienne Becker写道,劳伦斯‧格拉夫怀着对珍稀宝石的热爱和生意头脑,从伦敦东部跃身世界舞台,成为与皇室贵族、国家元首和文化先驱看齐的人物。

60多年前,劳伦斯‧格拉夫首次来到伦敦著名珠宝区哈顿公园 (Hatton Garden)施耐德工场工作,从此与钻石结下不解之缘,并醉心追求永恒的美钻。他忆述:“15岁那年我开始当学徒,同时在中央艺术和工艺学校上课。”他说:“我一直对钻石深感着迷,凝望这些闪亮的钻石时,我总会仔细研究宝石的净度和切割方法。这种与生俱来的好奇心成为了我终身的兴趣。我深信投身钻石行业是我的使命。”


‘我一直对钻石深感着迷,我深信投身钻石行业是我的使命。’


不过,当了三个月学徒之后,雇主就跟年青的劳伦斯‧格拉夫说他永远成不了大器,难以在业内有所作为。

事实证明,这一番话不但没有吓怕他,反而成为一种激励。他说:“我没有放弃,反而意志更加坚定。” 劳伦斯‧格拉夫的敏锐触觉与干劲,推动他不断往上爬。“我的家人非常勤劳,我也一样,做任何事也怀着必胜的决心。”

劳伦斯‧格拉夫在18岁时便创立第一家公司。之后他开始与经验丰富的珠宝商合作。“合作了一段时间后,我建议大家正式建立业务,并成为合作伙伴,设立工场和开始维修珠宝。”劳伦斯‧格拉夫的创业天赋、洞悉先机的慧眼与冒险精神,为他奠定成功的基础。不久后,他便遇上一个难得的机会——他说服一位钻石商先收取60英镑,然后为他供应33颗小钻石。劳伦斯‧格拉夫忆述:“与其制作33枚钻戒,我把所有钻石镶嵌在一枚戒指上,组成一颗闪烁的大钻石。我把戒指卖给英格兰北部的一家珠宝店。回到伦敦之后,珠宝店的东主打电话给我,说他已经把戒指卖出,并想马上订购另一枚。”

他因此深受启发:“我想出其他方法,打造令人梦寐以求的独特戒指。我以六颗钻石环绕中央的钻石,四周再镶嵌12颗钻石,制作共有19颗钻石的戒指。制作全钻款式后,我开始采用祖母绿、红宝石和蓝宝石。”他于1960年创立格拉夫珠宝,两年后在伦敦开设第一家零售店(其后再开设第二家),而当时的珠宝业仍然以批发和工场为主。行业的文化也极度守旧,锐意设计创新珠宝的劳伦斯‧格拉夫因而被标签为异类。

劳伦斯‧格拉夫积极开拓全球客源,因此决定在1967年开展多趟旅程,把自己的设计带到世界各地,发掘商机。

“这次十分成功,之后我便经常到各地举办展览,反应热烈。”劳伦斯‧格拉夫承认在事业发展的道路上,他一直运气不错。但他认为更重要的是“勤奋与热情”,这些也是成功的关键。其后,格拉夫策略性地在世界各地开设珠宝店,继2000年在摩纳哥巴黎大饭店开设第一家英国境外的珠宝店后,格拉夫目前在全球已有50多家珠宝店。


‘劳伦斯‧格拉夫曾经处理的珍贵钻石比当代、甚至任何时期的珠宝商都要多。’


劳伦斯‧格拉夫非常重视遇见的每一位客人:“在我的事业生涯中,我非常幸运地遇见了一些很有趣的人,当中不乏皇室贵族、商贾名流和舞台巨星。”他高兴地表示,这些都是他工作上的意外收获。“我和很多客户成为了朋友,这种关系更延续到下一代,我的儿子方施华和他们也是朋友,这样一来,我们更像是一家人。格拉夫是一门家族生意,每位光临珠宝店的客人都是我们家的一分子。他们购买我们热爱的珠宝,我们视珠宝如子女般疼爱,每一件作品也独一无二,我们致力呈献隽永不朽的珍品。”

人们常说劳伦斯‧格拉夫曾经处理的珍贵钻石比当代、甚至任何时期的珠宝商都要多。这些绝美宝石既有充满历史色彩的瑰丽美钻,也有全新开采、注定成为传奇名钻的顶级钻石。

投身珠宝业60年间,劳伦斯‧格拉夫荣获多项殊荣,不但四度获得英女皇企业奖(Queen’s Awards to Industry),更在英女皇寿辰当天获授予官佐勋章,这些荣耀至今仍然令他兴奋不已:“由成立格拉夫至今,我对钻石的热情与渴求始终如一。我深信我是全世界最幸运的人,因为我每天都能欣赏钻石的美态。”劳伦斯‧格拉夫尊重钻石的传统,也乐于分享他的建树,因为即使格拉夫的业务更多元化和遍及全球,格拉夫仍然是一家家族企业,在业界傲视同侪。这份优良传统,使格拉夫的宝石和珠宝珍品继续成为世界上最无与伦比的瑰丽珠宝。


Vivienne Becker:

Vivienne Becker是珠宝史权威、得奖记者兼《金融时报》旗下杂志《How to Spend It》的特约编辑,也曾撰写有关珠宝的各类文章,包括《The Impossible Collection of Jewellery》、《Fabulous Costume Jewellery》和《格拉夫》等。

Scan via WeChat App to follow Graff

Beginnings

A Life in Diamonds

With his passion for gemstones and his talent for business, Laurence Graff OBE has journeyed from London’s East End to a place on the world’s stage alongside kings, presidents and cultural icons, writes leading jewellery historian Vivienne Becker.

An intense passion for diamonds has been the driving force in Laurence Graff’s life since he first sat, over 60 years ago, at a jeweller’s bench in Hatton Garden, London’s jewellery quarter. His story of metamorphosis is very similar to that of a diamond – transformed from raw, rough carbon into a precious, ravishingly refined gem. ‘I have always been fascinated by diamonds,’ he says; ‘I remember looking at them, studying them closely to understand their purity, and the way they had been cut. It was an inherent feeling that has turned in to a lifelong passion.’


‘I have always been fascinated by diamonds, I truly believe that working with diamonds is what I was born to do.’


When his mother took him, aged just 15, to his first job as an apprentice in Hatton Garden, she asked the owner, a Mr Schindler, “How far can he go?” The answer, prophetic, came back, “The sky’s the limit.” Yet, after three months of scrubbing floors, occasionally levelling a piece of metal, and learning his trade on day-release classes at the Central School of Arts and Crafts, young Graff was told he would “never make the grade”.

This proved to be more a provocation than a deterrent, he says: ‘I didn’t give up, but moved on with more determination.’ His entrepreneurial instincts and drive, inherited from his shrewd grandmother, Katie Graff – the business brain of the family, to whom everyone in their community went for advice – fuelled his ascent. ‘I come from a family of hard-working people and I was born with a will to succeed.’

Graff founded his first company at the tender age of 18, when he began working alongside a more experienced jeweller. ‘I suggested we set up in business and we formed a partnership, repairing Victorian jewellery.’ Laurence Graff’s entrepreneurial flair, opportunistic nature and courage in taking risks all contribute to his business trajectory. One such occasion occurred early on: he met a diamond dealer whom he persuaded to advance him 33 small diamonds for £60. ‘Instead of making 33 individual rings,’ Graff remembers, ‘I placed them all on one ring, creating a big flash of diamonds. I sold the ring to a jeweller in the north of England, who called me immediately after my return to London to say he had sold the ring and wanted to order another.’

He was inspired: ‘I thought of other ways to create unique rings that everyone would want. I took one diamond and placed six stones around it, then 12 stones around that to create a 19-stone cluster. After making all-diamond rings, I started working with emeralds, rubies and sapphires as well.’ Graff Diamonds was established in 1960, and, two years later, the first two retail stores opened in London, at a time when the jewellery industry was traditionally wholesale and workshop-based. It was also highly conventional, and Graff – often labelled a maverick – worked on ideas for creating more adventurous jewellery.

In 1967, keen to reach an international clientele, and aged just 29, Graff decided to take his designs into a wider world of opportunity, and began a series of journeys and exhibitions around the globe.

With each visit to a palace or to a private yacht, he was aware of how far he’d come. ‘For an East End boy, to dine with kings and princes was quite something,’ he reflects. The Graff brand started to enjoy global success. The company was careful to build up its international stores judiciously; the first store outside the UK opened in 2000 at Hotel de Paris in Monaco, and there are now over 50 stores worldwide.


‘Laurence Graff has handled more important diamonds than any other diamantaire of our time, possibly of any time.’


Laurence Graff treasures the clientele he has encountered; it is, he happily acknowledges, one of the bonuses of being in the business. ‘I have become friends with a number of our clients, and this has now passed to the second generation, as my son Francois is inheriting those relationships. Graff is a family business and the people who enter our stores and buy our jewels become part of our family. They buy what we love: we love our jewels like we love our children; they are very, very special to us and we strive to offer jewellery pieces that will last forever.’

It is often quoted that Laurence Graff has handled more important diamonds than any other diamantaire of our time, possibly of any time. These include both noble, historic diamonds of the past, and astonishing new discoveries, destined to be the famous diamonds of the future.

Six decades after he set out in the industry and with a host of prestigious honours to his name – including four Queen’s Awards to Industry and an OBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List – Laurence Graff still experiences the excitement he used to feel: ‘I have the same passion and desire for diamonds as I did when I first established Graff. I truly believe I am the luckiest man in the world because I see diamonds every day.’ Laurence Graff honours the heritage of the diamond and, in the same way, shares the legacy he has built, for – even as the business has diversified and extended its global reach – the House of Graff remains a family business, operating at the very pinnacle of the industry. This legacy ensures that Graff jewels continue to be the most fabulous jewels in the world.


About Vivienne Becker:

A leading authority on the history of jewellery, an award-winning journalist and contributing editor at the Financial Times’ How to Spend It, Vivienne Becker has written extensively about jewels. She is the author of The Impossible Collection of Jewellery and Fabulous Costume Jewellery, and the co-author of Graff.

LEARN MORE

The Graff Book

The story of our House is told through visually arresting imagery, insightful essays and personal reflections. All proceeds from the sale of our coffee table book GRAFF go directly to our FACET charity.

Explore the book

Scan via WeChat App to follow Graff