鑄造非凡 – 完美鑽石耳環

撰文:Sam Sherry;攝影:Daniel Herendi

格拉夫的每一件瑰麗珠寶,都是在倫敦的高端地段梅菲爾區工場精雕細琢而成。在這個歐洲其中一個最大的珠寶工場內,從構思設計到最後的打磨,不少珍寶還凝聚了工匠數百小時的心血。

工匠除了沿用傳統的金匠工具,也採用先進的現代設備,將最罕見的美鑽變成獨一無二的作品,展現醉人美態,例子之一是這雙梨形和圓形鑽石耳環(鑽石共重32.98克拉),以下是它奇妙的誕生過程。

創意設計

設計師按照勞倫斯‧格拉夫的指示和靈感,繪畫出耳環的詳細平面設計圖,這幅手繪的水粉彩草圖讓珠寶工匠瞭解耳環的精緻外觀、風格和結構,以便將設計變成雋永非凡的珠寶。

挑選美鑽

接著是仔細挑選最合適的鑽石,以打造理想的設計。挑選準則包括鑽石的形狀、切割、大小、色澤和淨度,而每一顆鑽石必須能夠互相配合,使作品完美無瑕。

白金底座

工匠會按照設計的特別要求,以白金製作固定每一顆寶石的底座,同時保持結構簡約,避免喧賓奪主,讓鑽石成為最奪目的主角。

隱藏結構

工匠開始鑲嵌鑽石,並製作連接部件,讓女士佩戴耳環時,鑽石能巧妙捕捉光線,透現極致光芒。精密的結構會隱藏在底座內,以免影響鑽石的璀璨效果。

「格拉夫的大師級工匠沿用金匠使用數百年的工具。」

精准鑲嵌

製成底座後,會在打磨工場內預先打磨,然後交給鑽石鑲嵌工匠。工匠會仔細地調整鑽石的位置,才以白金鑲爪將鑽石固定。

光芒乍現

當已按照設計師的繪圖完成每一個細節後,便會進行最後的打磨工序。底座的每一個部分也會使用不同的化合物進行幾個打磨步驟,直至與鑽石展現同樣的細緻光芒。

醉人臻品

檢查過每一個細節後,耳環便會送到格拉夫珠寶店,等待別具慧眼的品位之士。這雙耳環不但為造型畫龍點睛,也是出眾工藝、卓越品質與優雅風格的永恆見證。

查看耳環

Scan via WeChat App to follow Graff

Making of a Masterpiece – No. 1: Diamond Earrings

CRATFED FOR ETERNITY

Each of Graff’s masterpieces is crafted in our London atelier in Mayfair. From design concept to final polishing, many pieces will not leave the workshop until more than 100 hours has been devoted to their creation. Using traditional goldsmithing tools alongside with state-of-the-art equipment, the world’s rarest diamonds are brought to life in unique creations, among them these astonishing new diamond earrings.

A designer hand paints a detailed two-dimensional representation of how a the earrings might look

Artistic Interpretation

Working to the brief and inspiration given by Laurence Graff, the designer creates a detailed two-dimensional representation of his or her vision of how the earrings might look. This hand-painted gouache communicates their beauty, feel and rhythm to the craftsman jeweller who will be tasked with bringing the design to life.

A collection of loose diamonds with a jewellers loupe

Perfect Selection

Next, diamonds are meticulously selected to complement the design. The final choice is dependent on the stones’ shape, cut, and size as well as their colour and clarity. It is imperative that each diamond enhances the other diamonds that will be placed alongside it in the finished piece.

The craftsman jeweller creates the mount in white gold

Precision in Gold

The craftsman jeweller creates the mount – the unique settings that hold each diamond securely in place – in white gold, according to the precise requirements of the design. They must remain as discreet as possible, allowing the diamonds to take their rightful place centre stage.

An artisan working on articulations within the earring setting

Secret Creation

Articulations are made that allow the diamonds, once set, to demonstrate the maximum play of light and to shimmer when worn. These intricate mechanisms are hidden within the mount so they do not detract from the diamonds’ visual impact.

“Graff’s master craftsmen utilise the same precise tools that goldsmiths have used for hundreds of years.”

The craftsman jeweller creates the mount in white gold

Exacting Placement

Once the mount is complete, it is pre-polished in the polishing workshop. Having been buffed, the earrings are handed over to the diamond setter, who carefully adjusts each stone in its collet before artfully securing it in white gold claws.

The final polishing on the earring setting using a series of different compounds

Shining Bright

Once every detail of the designer’s brief has been fulfilled, the final polishing can begin. Each part of the completed mount is taken through several stages of polishing, using a series of different compounds, until it achieves the same gleaming lustre as the diamonds it holds.

A Fabulous Finale

Once every detail has been checked, the finished earrings are released from the workshop. An exquisite adornment and an enduring expression of craftsmanship, quality and grace, they are finally ready to be acquired, worn and enjoyed.

View the Earrings

Scan via WeChat App to follow Graff