瑰麗加冕 ─ 感受后冠的魔力

撰文:Hannah Betts;攝影:Daniel Herendi

從拿破侖時期到荷里活的黃金時代,后冠都是榮耀與瑰麗的象徵,是尊貴無比的珠寶。現在,時尚及社會評論員Hannah Betts獲得難能可貴的機會,率先試戴格拉夫的璀璨后冠。

從拿破侖時期到荷里活的黃金時代,后冠都是榮耀與瑰麗的象徵,是尊貴無比的珠寶。現在,時尚及社會評論員Hannah Betts獲得難能可貴的機會,率先試戴格拉夫的璀璨后冠。首次戴上后冠的美妙感覺,令人意想不到。

我熱愛珠寶和寶石,曾經佩戴冠冕出席威尼斯影展和倫敦的盛會,也戴過瑰麗無比的格拉夫鑽石發飾,見證耀眼奪目的光芒,但佩戴以頂級美鑽和巧妙結構交織而成的格拉夫后冠,卻讓我夢想成真,難掩興奮之情。光芒懾人的后冠令人又愛又恨,因為它既代表夢寐以求的完美一刻,卻又無可替代。佩戴后冠是能改寫一生的奇妙體驗,沒有任何客觀標準可言。

格拉夫倫敦新邦德街珠寶店經理Martin Leggatt認為,后冠有一種童

話般的魅力,令人為之傾心。「這是一種昇華的儀式,美妙絕倫,令人讚歎,亦是終極的點綴。每位女性都渴望擁有戒指、耳環和項鏈等珠寶,而后冠則是令一切變得完美的珍寶,讓女士化身公主或女王。」

我早前有幸率先欣賞格拉夫的全新后冠,鑲嵌336顆黃鑽和白鑽的璀璨設計剛剛完成最後的打磨工序,光是拿著它已令我心跳加快。極致精巧迷人的后冠離開格拉夫後,將會譜寫另一段非凡傳奇。佩戴后冠是一種獨一無二的體驗,讓人感覺馬上高人一等。在發上閃閃生光的美鑽,也為五官增添華光,讓肌膚更透白亮麗,動人雙眸馬上變得加倍迷人,顴骨也更飽滿粉嫰,而嘴角當然會掛上按捺不住的微笑。

「后冠深受全球女士喜愛,不論哪一個世代的女士都會為之傾倒。」

后冠的歷史悠久,可追溯到古希臘時期,當時的男女喜愛佩戴花環狀的頭飾,羅馬人也愛模仿這種打扮。後來,這種潮流漸漸退卻,直到18世紀末至19世紀初的新古典主義時期,拿破侖讓皇后佩戴后冠和穿著高腰裙裝,以提升皇族的形象。於是英國和俄羅斯等國家也爭相仿效,使后冠成為代表高貴王族的象徵,以及令人驚豔的珠寶。

英國女王伊麗莎白二世便擁有不下十個后冠,當中數個更是傳奇之作,包括鈔票上女王肖像所佩戴的「大英帝國和愛爾蘭女孩」后冠、德里杜巴后冠,以及脫俗典雅的亞曆山德拉王後俄式后冠。儘管瑞典王室有平民王室之稱,也有幾個精緻的后冠,而許多英國古老家族也擁有世代相傳的后冠,讓女兒在大婚之日佩戴。不過,有一位優雅的夫人曾告訴我︰「沒有人想佩戴19世紀前製作的后冠,太重了!」

到了19至20世紀,美國的名媛以行動證明並非只有貴族才能佩戴后冠。阿斯特(Astor)家族、範德比爾特家族(Vanderbilt)家族和芭芭拉.赫頓(Barbara Hutton)均訂造后冠,一眾影視紅星也紛紛響應潮流,例如艾娃.加德納(Ava Gardner)、伊麗莎白.泰勒(Elizabeth Taylor),以及在電影中經常佩戴后冠的奧黛麗.赫本(Audrey Hepburn)。

專為特別場合而設的后冠別有一番魅力。時至今天,女王和平民也會佩戴寶石冠冕出席隆重的場合、官方活動、王室宴會或舞會,而在紅地毯上,也能看到寶石發飾的身影。

Martin Leggatt表示世界各地的客人也對后冠愛不釋手。「后冠深受全球女士喜愛,不論哪一個世代的女士都會為之傾倒,從新娘到貴族,也會以后冠為造型錦上添花。」在日本,與格拉夫相熟的幾位准新娘,更佩戴舉世聞名、鑲嵌312顆美鑽的「Royal Bride」后冠出嫁。

格拉夫設計的雋永后冠超越時間與風格的制約,成為世代珍藏的家傳之寶。若我有幸擁有一頂后冠,不管在下大雨還是在浴缸嬉水時,我也絕不會脫下。當我再欣賞「我」的后冠一眼時,不禁驚歎現在的我美極了。

 

Journalist Hannah Betts wearing a white dress and a Graff Tiara attended by two small girls

Scan via WeChat App to follow Graff

Crowning Glory – The Magic of Wearing a Tiara

Words Hannah Betts, Photography Daniel Herendi.

A symbol of glamour from the court of Napoleon to the heyday of Hollywood, it is the ultimate piece of jewellery. Style and social commentator Hannah Betts experiences the head rush of wearing a tiara.

A Graff Diamonds Yellow and White Diamond Tiara totalling 177.6 cts

A symbol of glamour from the court of Napoleon to the heyday of Hollywood, it is the ultimate piece of jewellery. Style and social commentator Hannah Betts experiences the head rush of wearing a tiara. Nothing prepares you for the first time that you wear a tiara. I have an unabashed love of jewellery and gemstones. I have worn diadems to the Venice Film Festival and to gatherings in London. I have sported Graff’s heavenly diamond Alice bands – charm itself, to be sure.

But being crowned with the exquisitely com-posed symphony of stone and space that is a Graff tiara is the culmination of every girlish fantasy. Any illusion of nonchalance is aban-doned. It marks an epoch both brilliant and ruinous: henceforth life can only be downhill. So do not expect the voice of objectivity here. There can be no ifs or buts, because wearing a tiara is unutterably brilliant – a consummately life-changing experience.

For Martin Leggatt, the Manager of Graff’s New Bond Street salon in London, it is the out-of-this-world, almost fairy-tale wonder that makes the tiara such a powerful piece to wear:”It’s a rite of passage, a fabulous concoction, a gasp piece and a final flourish. Every woman wants a ring, needs earrings, craves a necklace, but a tiara is the last piece in the jigsaw of a parure. It’s the jewel that recasts everyone who wears it a princess or a queen.”

Earlier, I had the honour of being the first to admire a brand-new tiara – a coruscating confection of 336 yellow and white diamonds, still warm from the finishing. Merely holding it gave me an adrenalin rush. This object of wild loveliness is now off on its adventures. Nevertheless, wearing one is something else entirely – one immediately carries oneself three inches taller. As to the effect on one’s looks – forget pearls next to the face, it’s diamonds above the hair that render the complexion lumi-nous. Everything becomes about the eyes. Then again, it is a fair bit about the cheekbones too, and one must not forget, of course, about the mouth, which cannot help but smile.

Tiaras are a universal joy – charming on a bride and the subject of cross-generational fascination.

The tiara’s history begins in ancient Greece, where men and women adorned themselves with wreath-like creations – a habit that was emulated by the Romans. The look then fell out of fashion until the neoclassicism of the late 18th and early 19th centuries, when Napoleon sought to elevate his court with tiara-ed beauties in empire-line dresses. Others followed suit, not least the British and the Russians, until tiaras became synonymous with courtly glamour – an exclamation mark to draw their subjects’ gaze.

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II has no fewer than 10 tiaras, several of them legendary, including the Girls of Great Britain & Ireland creation she sports on banknotes, the lofty Delhi Durbar and the spectacular, halo-style Queen Alexandra’s Kokoshnik. The Swedish royals, despite being a bicycling monarchy, also boast some splendid pieces. And many is the old English family that has one tucked away in a vault or attic until a bride demands her moment – though a splendid dowager did once inform me: “No woman wants to wear a pre-19th century tiara – the weight is quite killing.”

But it was the American society hostesses of the 19th and 20th centuries who demonstrated that you don’t have to be a royal to carry off a tiara, meaning a rush of commissions from the Astors, the Vanderbilts and the likes of Barbara Hutton. Screen legends followed suit – Ava Gardner, Elizabeth Taylor and Audrey Hepburn, who wears a tiara in so many of her films.

That they are not for everyday wear is, of course, part of their appeal. Today, they are assumed by queen and commoner alike for all manner of white-tie parties, state occasions, regal banquets and balls, with jewelled bands also making a comeback on the red carpet.

As Martin Leggatt reveals, they are popular among clients from right across the world: “They’re a universal joy and the subject of cross-gener-ational fascination, he says. As charming on a bride as they are glorious on a grande dame.”  In Japan, some lucky brides who are friends of the House have even worn the famous ‘Royal Bride’ tiara, featuring 312 diamonds, on their own wedding day.

Graff creates designs that transcend both time and style, and a tiara may be considered an instant heirloom. Were I to lay claim to one, I would never be out of it, whether pelting down Piccadilly or disporting myself in the bath like HRH Princess Margaret in Snowdon’s magnificent portrait. I steal one final glance at myself in ‘my’ diamond tiara. Obviously, I would be far too English ever to make such a claim under normal circumstances, but I look completely beautiful.

 

Journalist Hannah Betts wearing a white dress and a Graff Tiara attended by two small girls

SaveSave

Scan via WeChat App to follow Graff